× Medical Specialties

Anesthesiology

More
12 years 3 weeks ago #57373 by notw_md_2b
Anyone family with this specialty? I've been considering it and researching the positives and negatives with this one regarding it's "family friendly" effects. I've heard it's not one of the toughest residencies and you have an option of regular work hours when finished (8-5 kinda schedule). I haven't found much on the difference between a hospitalist anesthesiologist, for example in a trauma unit) and ones in private office settings. I would rather work in hospital but I am concerned with the hours being too hard on family life (since I am married with a 5 yr old-who will probably be in jr. high when this time comes). I know any specialty and medicine in general is tough. Even working as a paramedic I worked long hours, stressful environments and little sleep. Any info I can get would be great! Thanks

"When your heart is in your dream, no request is too extreme!"

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 6 months ago #57374 by sumozmom
Good question anybody can give input here? please???

~ whatever is beautiful,<br />whatever is meaningful,<br />whatever brings you happiness...<br />May it be yours today and throught the year ~

More
8 years 8 months ago #77652 by clee03m
Anyone family with this specialty?

***Yes. I have been married for 8 years and have a 10 month old.

I've been considering it and researching the positives and negatives with this one regarding it's "family friendly" effects. I've heard it's not one of the toughest residencies and you have an option of regular work hours when finished (8-5 kinda schedule).

***I wouldn't call it the easiest residencies either. I worked over 80 hours a week (but were not able to report that). But as far as I know our residents always take post call days off. While the option of regular work hours may exist, I am not sure how easy it would be to find this kind of a job.