× Women Medical Students

third trimester exhaustion/sickness and rotations

More
6 years 3 months ago #89076 by almondbutter
hi everyone! i'm a 4th-year med student now in my third trimester and am struggling to finish my very last clinical rotation. i posted earlier in the year when i was having problems with nausea on rotations during my first trimester, and everyone's responses were so helpful and supportive that i've come back hoping for more. :) anyway, i'm now in my third trimester and am doing okay when i can take it easy, but doing rotations has been completely exhausting -- a combination of all the standing plus the fact that my immune system seems to have been completely wrecked by pregnancy. prior to getting pregnant, i definitely got my share of the colds and such that are hard to avoid when you work in a hospital, but it was always stuff that i could fight off and i never had to call in sick. now that i'm pregnant, i get sick pretty much whenever i have contact with any sick person. as a result, i had to miss an entire week of my rotation and am set to do a make-up week this week, but i am worried because i am already feeling exhausted and like i am coming down with a bug (i talked to some people who were sick on match day, oops). i only have one week to go and then i am done with all required clinical rotations for med school, so i am going to try to just get through it. i guess i am hoping from some support from some fellow med school moms or moms-to-be -- it's been pretty demoralizing because in general i really try hard to be a good and diligent team member and the administration for this rotation has made it clear that they perceive me to be a bad egg, like i am not really sick, or whatever. i'm just frustrated and tired. any advice or support would be very much appreciated -- thank you ladies! :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 3 months ago #89078 by southernmd