× Women Medical Students

Struggling MS1

More
4 years 7 months ago #95459 by tizziea
Hi Ladies!

I guess I'm just looking for some encouragement or words of advice.

I'm an MS1 just about to take our first exam for anatomy. I feel like I'm studying all the time and putting in everything I have to doing well in school, but I have nothing to show for it in terms of grades. I barely passed my first block (biochem) and did not do well on our first anatomy quiz. I am just feeling really down and doubting myself. I do great on all things clinical (interviews, exams, ethics, etc) but my sciences are such a struggle. I'm really struggling with long term memory. I've tried so many different study methods that I feel like an ADD kid that forgot to take their meds (whiteboard, outlining, reading the textbook, writing objectives, practice questions, tutors, etc) all with no avail. To go along with that, I feel like I'm failing as a wife. My house is constantly a disaster with dishes that need to be washed and laundry that needs to be folded, and I haven't cooked a healthy meal in god knows how long. I've tried delegating tasks to my fiancé, but despite his best efforts, he sucks at being a house-husband and is in the middle of trying to change careers. I feel like I'm not devoting enough time to him, and on top of it all, I've got baby fever worse than ever before.

I know that this is the career I want, and I'm trying so hard to get there, but I just feel stuck in a rut that I can't pull myself out of. I'm learning all of this amazing stuff and I can't even appreciate it because there's constantly this gigantic fear of failing looming over me. It's so hard knowing that despite all of my effort, I have nothing to show for it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 7 months ago #95480 by ctenj