× Women Medical Students

Books for clerkship and medschool in general...

More
12 years 9 months ago #24775 by madrenaline
Hey everyone,

I am a final year medical student. I was wondering which books to get for the clerkship(especially Medicine and Pediatrics)?

Also, Would you recommend Bates guide to physical examination as opposed to Swartz textbook of physical examination?

And will the pocket Bates do if I already have read other physical diagnosis books?

Lastly, are the used books good enough? I mean do you end up having complaints about them?

I ll be glad to have any suggestions,
Thanks a lot:)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 9 months ago #24776 by AnotherJen
I think that the best book by weight is Maxwell Quick Medical Reference (it's a small book with colored pages with all the info you need to write notes, including standard lab values, useful equations, etc.) You probably won't need to carry around any physical diagnosis books after the first week or so. Another little book that's a bit heavier but useful well into residency is the "Pocket Medicine: The Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of Internal Medicine."

I really like the Lange "Case Files" series as well as the "Pretest" series for rotations. Some people like "Step Up to Medicine," but it's pretty long and heavy. Many people also like the "Blueprints" series. For pediatrics, I think the pretest and case files books are very good -- and if you can get a copy of the Harriet Lane Handbook, you'll know more than the residents ; )

I swear by used books, but I don't know how easy it is to come by new-ish used books in India. Otherwise it gets very very expensive very fast.

Good luck!

More
12 years 9 months ago #24777 by lori