× Women Medical Students

First day?

More
17 years 5 months ago #26187 by MelissaGray
For those of you starting med school this year:
When does it begin?

I'll be at OSUCOM and we have orientation starting Aug 12, white coat Aug 17, and classes begin Aug 19.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 years 5 months ago #26188 by DO2B
Hey "fellow" new student osteopath! I'll be starting at MSUCOM this Aug.

Orientation starts Aug 15, white coat on Aug 23, and classes start on the 26th. I'm excited but, a little nervous, too. It probably sounds trivial or silly, but one of the things I'm worried about, is "sticking out" as an older student (I'm young-looking for my age, but at 43, there's no mistaking me for a twenty-something!).

I've been an older student for much of my college career..even in grad school, so it's not like that part is new to me. Anyway, I'm sure I'll get past it, just as I have all the other hurdles I've surpassed to get to this point.

Good luck to all the rest of you 1st years out there!

More
17 years 5 months ago #26189 by cazza
I wouldn't worry too much about sticking out. I am a 35 year old 1st year med student in Australia (we started in Feb), and the only time I feel as if I "stick out" is when I consciously think about the age difference. The rest of the time, you just feel the same as everyone else. I really think it is an advantage being older. You have so much more life experience, and can share that with others. We have a problem based learning course, which promotes a lot of discussion between students, and this really allows you to reflect on how much your thinking has changed since you left high school.