× Women Medical Students

Best time to have a baby (or another)?

More
17 years 3 months ago #26444 by marjmed
Hi, I would like to be pregnant my 3rd or 4th year of med school but am concerned about being on-call during my clinicals. Do all of the clinical rotations require being on-call? Can anyone tell me which rotations involve that (I know surgery is one) and what that involves (staying up all night?, extra hours of work?, etc.) Thanks so much.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 years 3 months ago #26445 by sugar72
Has anyone adopted during medical school or residency, or know anyone that has? Is it treated the same as maternity leave?

More
17 years 3 months ago #26446 by futr_babyDOc
Hello everyone,

I am new to MomMD and I already love this site! Anyway, both my husband and I will be starting med school this fall and we definitely want to start a family somewhere along the way. I know this will be extremely difficult since BOTH of us will be in med school, but we were thinking to have our first baby during my second year of residency. I plan to specialize in OB/GYN, which I am aware is notorious for grueling work hours. My hubby wants to be an ophthalmologist. We figured that would be the best time, especially since I'm not getting any younger. By then I will be 31. Are we waiting too long? And should I worry about obtaining a "pregnant-friendly" residency? I know I have so many questions but I just need advice. Is there anyone out there who has done this successfully? :confused: I would love for you to share your experiences.

More
17 years 3 months ago #26447 by GracieThree
futrbabydoc-

In general, here are some times you could have a baby and not be penalized for it time-wise:

You should have two or three months off between first and second year of med school - if your planned it right (and things followed your schedule! :) ) that could be a good time.