× Women Medical Students

Residency/ Rotations and pregnancy

More
12 years 9 months ago #27037 by JN819
I realize that this issue has been chewed over before, but i have different questions, which i dont seem to find an answer to.
I am a first year student and am married. My hubby and I are starting to talk about having children and when the "perfect" timing would be. My husband is a physician with 2 fairly new practices, in the states and I am away, taking the carib way (not by choice) through med school but will be back in the states for 3rd and 4th year.
My questions are related to getting a residency position. I understand that IMG, even born and bred US citizens like me, have last dibs as far as residencies go. But I was recently speaking to a friend who is a 2nd year resident, USMG, and she basically told me that being pregnant or having a baby at home, "won't fly with the PD". Can anyone comment on that? I am not looking to go into a very competitive field, maybe OBGYN, not sure yet. But I am concerned about facing discrimination once interview season rolls around.
Has anyone been faced with this?
Another friend of mine has suggested waiting until your first year of residency, and are in contract with the program.

Another concern I have, is being pregnant during rotations, will this effect my getting LOR's? Will
people be less inclined to giving me a LOR due to my "condition"?
I guess I wouldnt be as worried if I was in an US school.
thanks in advance for the replies ;)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 years 9 months ago #27038 by oneontheway
Hi,