× Women Medical Students

getting tired-help!

More
16 years 11 months ago #27737 by Laurie
Hi everyone. I just wanted to see if I could get a little encouragement that things are going to get better. I am a second year medical student. I had to repeat my first year due to a couple of marginal grades, so this is really my third full year of medical school. I feel like I am stressed out and studying constantly and not getting enough time with my husband and six year old daughter. Can anyone tell me that the third and fourth year and/or residency will be any better (I'm planning to do psych)? Some days I feel like throwing in the towel. Any support would be appreciated. I am one of the only moms in my class. The other two have children in high school, so it's a little different for them. Most of my non-med. school friends are stay at home, room mothers, etc. I just feel like an "outlander" at school and with my other friends. Thanks for "listening."

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 years 11 months ago #27738 by erin
Hey Laurie,
I agree that some encouragement would be great about now! I'm only a first year, but it seems like everywhere I look, I hear negative things about medicine and many of my classmates keep threatening to quit (although I know they don't really mean it!). I would love to hear from those that have made it through this!

More
16 years 11 months ago #27739 by Lin
I hope you don't mind my posting as I am a premed.
I have a good friend who graduated from a PA allopathic medical school after having to repeat year one and then transferring to his wife's school after completing his second year when they had their first baby.
He is a psychiatrist in private practice now and loves his work. His wife really helped him keep going, and he did his best to have some time for something other than medicine to survive and thrive!