× Women Premed Students

over 40..... go PA or DO????

More
7 years 4 months ago #84314 by modernFamily
I always wanted to be a Doctor, but life got in the way.....
Fast forward.....
Now at 42 divorced, remarried,& with twelve year old son (Manny).
I am a full time student at a state college in my Junior year of a Biology major and have managed to keep a 3.7 GPA. My original plan was PA school because of
1) my age
2) not wanting to do the extra 3 years of residency after med school
3) not wanting to take on such big debt so late in my life.
But now after a friend of mine who was a PA for 7 years decided to go back to school and do the few pre-reqs she needed for med school, took the MCAT and got ACCEPTED at 38 ......(I'm so jealous :blush:)
I am starting to ask my self why not ??
I know my age is a factor, but I do have the drive, the discipline and the support of my family.
Maybe DO school? can I get in?? :confused:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 3 months ago #84693 by samantha4