× Women Premed Students

Life Advice for a 26 Year Old

More
4 years 4 weeks ago #95759 by CL.MD
Hey Ladies,

After reading all the positive & informative feedback from everyone on other threads, I decided to post my dilemma.

I am the first in my family to ever set foot in college, so I really have no academic role models. Everyday of my college career, I had my parents grilling me on as why I didn't just drop out and work like them. They still do this until this day. So unfortunately, I cannot ask them for advice.

I graduated with a 3.7 GPA, degree in Health Science and minor in Biology. I am currently finishing my physics and o-chem 2 prereqs because during undergrad I made a D in Phys, but now I am on track for an A. Also during my undergrad career I worked three jobs, was heavily involved in extracurricular activities throughout my community, held leadership roles at school, and received 1st authorship publication on a melanoma research study. I worked for MD Anderson (which is one of the leading hospitals in cancer research), and was able to shadow with many brilliant physicians in a total of 8 different specialities (around 300 shadowing hours). I know I have the commitment, passion, communication skills, and empathy to be an amazing physician. BUT...I blew my MCAT. My score was so low that I can only apply to Caribbean Schools.

I attended a webinar for AUA in in the Caribbean, and I was pretty impressed with what they had to say and their USMLE pass rates as well as residency match rates. Based on their admission stats, I know I can get in. Thoughts?
My dilemma lies with if I should wait to retake the MCAT, at the chance to apply for Fall 2017 (I will be 28 by the time I get in), in hopes that I can get into a US Med School or should I stick with attending AUA? I've also been in a relationship with my boyfriend for 6 years and we do want to get married and have children. But with this schedule, when is the time right?!