× Women Premed Students

Pre-med undergrad in 3 yrs?

More
4 years 3 months ago #95786 by inkling
Hi, I'm new to MomMD, though I have been browsing around the site for at least six months now. :) I'm nineteen and about to finish my freshman year of college, and realized after my advising appointment two months ago that it would be possible for me to graduate with all my pre-med requirements in three years (because I tested out of so many of the gen ed courses for my university). The more I think about it, the more I realize I would really like to do this. One of my worries about med school has always been how long it takes, and getting a one-up as far as years go would make me really happy.

But since I didn't realize this was a possibility until now, I'm worried that I may be "behind" on some of the other things I'd need and don't want to set myself up to be rejected when I apply. My grades are very high and I will be shadowing throughout the summer when I go home, so really mainly I am worried about research and the MCAT. How many semesters of research do med schools typically expect? (For example, if I got involved with a research lab next semester and did that for three-four semesters, would that be good?)

If I wanted to get into med school for Fall 2017, I would need to take the MCAT by June of 2016, right? By then I will have finished general chemistry, o chem, general biology, cell biology, physics, and psychology. However, I won't have taken sociology or statistics. No matter what, I plan on getting a really good set of prep books and starting prep 6-9 months in advance, but am I setting myself up for a low score without those other classes? In the past I have always scored very high on standardized tests (because I take a lot of time to prep), but I feel like the MCAT is unlike anything I've ever dealt with and it definitely scares me to death.