× Women Premed Students

Question about course load as a non-traditional

More
3 years 8 months ago #95974 by alb3335
Hello everyone! I have enjoyed this site at a distance for a while now, but I do have a specific question I would love some feedback on from anyone who may have a better understanding.
I am about to turn 30, and I'm a junior in my undergraduate program, majoring in Social Work. I started my journey in school when I was 26 years old, so it has taken me about 4 years just to get to where I am right now, with 2 more years to go before I graduate with my bachelors. I started as a business major, but decided I wanted to go into the healthcare field after volunteering and also after dealing with my own health issues for the last 2 years. That being said, I have not had a linear progression towards applying to medical school. I already know I'm going to have to have a "gap year" after I graduate anyway, in order to have enough time to finish the rest of my pre-reqs and study for the MCAT.