× Women Premed Students

Gaining my husbands support for medical school...

More
11 years 6 months ago #34480 by HSTMD2Be
I have actually been a member of this site for over 5 years. I changed my e-mail address a while back and I had to sign up for a new account since I forgot my password. So anyways I will give you a little history about myself. I am a 26 yo mother of 2 children a 4 and 5 year old. I have a BS in Public Health which I earned a 3.01 and I am almost finished with a MS degree in Management and I currently have a graduate GPA of 3.85. I still have 4 pre-reqs to complete before I can apply to medical school and I haven't taken the MCAT either. I am a school teacher and my husband is a 2nd year Vet student. He has three more years of school left. I plan to apply to medical school in 2 years. I am waiting for my kids to start grade school and my husband to complete veterinarian school. My husband has always been supportive of my dreams but here lately he has been really unsure of the idea of me applying to medical school. He always tells me that I should think about dental, pharmacy, or physician assistant school since those careers will allow me more family time. I have been blowing off his remarks but then here lately he has been telling me that he hopes I get accepted to one of the schools that I apply to the first time I apply because once he graduates and starts working he is not moving again. I see his point we have moved several times in our marriage and he wants our children to not have to change schools. As a teacher I respect his opinion and I agree that our children do not need to be moving school districts every few years for moms medical school and residency, etc. I showed him this website tonight and I said "I know there are women on this site who are medical doctors who have family lives too." Then he said "but medical school will be so time consuming and the residency will kill our marriage." I know he could be right but everytime I think