× Women Premed Students

Need Your Help and Advice Need to vent

More
15 years 3 months ago #34808 by zetanursee
Hello All
I am back again. I have been a bit busy lately. I am not sure where to begin so I will start at the begining. I am currently a registered Nurse who is dying to become a doctor. I have a 7 year old son and I am engaged to be married. I received my BSN in 2000 and I am currently a Pre medical student attending Columbia University. All I need to complete the Pre reqs for med school are my orgo I and II and g Chem II. According to most of the medical schools the science that I took in undergrad should represent my preqs once I get a decent grade on my Mcats.

The problem is that I am going to have to leave Columbia University's program the tution is way to pricey also they where very unhappy with the C that I got in Physics so I took a leave of absence. I am not sure if I can be competitive at most school because of my drop in Gpa as a result of the C in physics. I must honestly say I tried very hard but I could not grasp physics. I do not want to repeat the course. I had a tutor and studied within a group.

I did pretty decent in my undrgrad science they all equaled out to B's and A's. I was told that it did not matter what you post bacch Gpa equaled out to because medical schools use your undergrad GPA for admittance. I am not sure how true that is( can anyone fill me in on that aspect)
If there are any othere nurses out there please tell me what you planning to do to prepare for med school are you taking the science courses over or are you just adding extra biology course like Genetics. I really do not want to chicken out on my dream please ladies give me advice. It is so easy when you are already an RN to just take the Nurse Practioner route or become a CNA. I do not want that but I am afraid that I will not be as compeptitive in med schools as other applicants.