× Women Premed Students

Too old? Financial options?

More
15 years 6 months ago #36805 by dar
Hi All: I am 41 and have two boys, 4 and 2. I have been a lawyer for 14 years and hate it. I have always contemplated going to medical school and was even premed for a time. My GPA was high, including my science GPA (I would need to take chemistry and physics I think to apply to med. school). My father is a general surgeon and I know from watching him over the years and our family doctor friends, that I missed the boat when I chose my career path. Anyone out there 41 or so and in med school or about to start? Am I too late? Also, I have certain monthly expenses now that a 24 year old student would not have and if I have to quit law altogether to go to medical school, I am not sure how I will pay for the mortgage etc. My spouse can contribute some, but I am the main breadwinner in our family. I am not certain how much in financial aid I might get in my situation. Any thoughts or suggestions, would be appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 years 6 months ago #36806 by efex101
No you are not too old, I am 37 and have multiple acceptances so do not let your age get in the way. As far as financial aid goes you will be in the same boat as everyone else you will have to get loans to go to school and live off. If you have monthly bills now I would try to start paying off some debt and go into med school with the least amount of debt possible....

More
15 years 6 months ago #36807 by dar
Thanks for the reply. My financial situation would hold me back more than anything probably. Any idea on how much in student aid one can obtain, or does it depend on the institution you attend?

More
15 years 6 months ago #36808 by efex101