× Women Premed Students

Non-traditional majors

More
15 years 4 months ago #40115 by Amy26

I was accepted with a bachelors in liberal studies, although I also have a minor in both chemistry and statistics. As long as you have the pre-reqs (make sure to get A's in those classes) and do well on the MCAT, you should be fine with a business degree. I am curious though, why? I really liked chemistry.

Well, I'm a loan officer for a mortgage company right now. Actually, I own my own net branch of the company. I have about 9 yrs experience in this industry, and I guess I just wanted to have my cake and eat it too... a business degree would strenghten my current position if I didn't get accepted into med school and decided to stay in my line of work. And I could still apply to pharm school also. Not to mention that I could probably complete a business degree blindfolded with my hands tied behind my back... since I'm already very well versed in most business and economic concepts and lingo. It would be a lot less effort to get and maintain a high GPA in business than in chemistry... even though I do like chemistry. I would like to minor in chem, although my school doesn't offer it. I don't know about a double major - I think these two fields are too disimilar to attempt a double major - not without putting in at least 3 extra semesters.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 years 3 months ago #40116 by V-tach
"You should major in what you love. I was a journalism major the first time around. (I've already graduated) and now I'm going back to school in the fall to take the prereqs for medical school. "....Starting Over