× Women Residents

in residency - now on bedrest

More
9 years 4 months ago #75201 by emmd2012
Hi, everyone,
I'm a second year EM resident with a due date in September. But, I've been on bedrest for the last week now. I'm 31 weeks right now. I was doing totally fine with pregnancy until one day there was a 180 turn; I was taken out of work abruptly by my OB when my fetal fibronectin came back positive.

Anyone else been here or have some advice?

I feel like some of the residents resent this which is frustrating. It's not like I'm not tough enough; I can't keep working because it will likely lead to early delivery. I'm also trying to figure out if I'll have to extend residency or not. *sigh*
It's just all very frustrating. Can anyone commiserate with me? :)

Thanks!
emmd2012

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 4 months ago #75211 by babylove
sorry--i know it can be frustrating when things do go as we planned! try not to worry about what the other residents think, if they don't understand, they will someday when they have kids of their own. (they'll probably think, how did she manage all that so well!?) also, i'd not worry too much about extending residency, a couple months tacked onto the end probably won't seem like such a big deal when the time comes! i'm sure you won't ever regret doing what is best for that little kiddo!

More
9 years 4 months ago #75214 by residentmom
You can work later, you can only carry this baby now. Also, you'll have this child forever, your residency classmates will move on. So focus on carrying to term and deal with the rest later.

ResidentMom<br /><br />"If you bungle raising your children, I don't think whatever else you do well matters very much." --Jackie O.

More
9 years 4 months ago #75239 by Emily2651