× Women Residents

Post residency...babies... life... work?

More
13 years 3 months ago #53201 by truly9
Hi all. Just home from a long night at the hospital. Don't you just love residency? All in all, it is not that much fun. More and more it feels like such a sacrifice as the years go by and we are still working so hard after so long. I'm a 2nd yr IM resident at a relatively laid-back program,so I shouldn't complain. And my hubby is an ortho resident at a killer program, so I can't complain. But I just don't know where any of this is going. I'm a year and a half into my 3 yr program, and I still don't know which area of medicine I truly enjoy. I enjoy hem-onc, but hesitate to really do a fellowship in it since it is so intense. I think about palliative care... maybe. I think about being a hospitalist.... but that sounds like it would get old very fast. And there is always primary care, but who really has the stomach for all of that paperwork.

I'm 28, and the baby urge has just started to emerge, which I find fascinating as there really is a biological clock in us, latent for some, but it is there. I know that once I have a baby, work will pale in comparison and I will not want to be there, only part-time if at all, and I can easily see myself being a SAHM. When I'm done, my husband will still have 2 more years of residency. After that, we will probably move back to my hometown.... I am just debating whether I should work straight out of residency for a year to utilize my fresh skills.... or to have a baby that year.... since what is the point of working for such a short time if I plan on taking time off anyway.... It is just a challenge for women in our age group to balance residency, motherhood, future career plans as the time when we finish residency is the time to expand, or start, a family...

How do you all balance these things? How steep is the fertility drop-off after 30? :) :) any gyn residents out there to chat us up about fertility?

:)