× Women Residents

Alternate Reality

More
14 years 8 months ago #53414 by ahaley
I wrote this post for a different thread, but thought it could be fun here.

If you could start all over what career would you try?

As a 3rd year resident I think (fantasize)about this a lot.

1) computer web site designer - yes it does require a degree in computer science, but it is an undergrad degree, you are your own boss, you can work from home, you can create your own hours, there is a great demand, you can be creative, no lives are at risk but you do have significant pressure to perform because peoples buisnesses are at stake, and the money is gooooood.

2) Financial advisor - high powered, can help people plan for their future, can work in a buisness environment, growth and income potential are huge

3)College professor - rewarding, challenging, money not so great

4) High school teacher - money even worse

5) Marine biologist - money even worse than high school teacher

6)Small buisness owner - cleaning service, personal organizer, personal trainer, home based day care, pet groomer, florist, personal assistants for elderly, help doctors start their own offices by finding office space, helping them write a buisness plan for small buisness loans, find an insurance biller, order medical supplies etc - take a cut of the small buisness loan for my salary, home delivery of diabetic friendly meals

7)Find a rich husband and be a kept woman (wont work already married) :hyper:

ok thats enough have to go back to sleep

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 7 months ago #53415 by becco
Ah, this is a topic I can relate to. I have had these thoughts many times. Studying for boards. On call during med school for whatever rotations I didn't like. Post call days as an intern, or at 3am on a 24hour call when there are 10 people in the waiting room for triage (which the intern runs). Excellent question!

I have a similar list to you, in some ways