× Thinking of a Becoming a Doctor

36, have PhD, 2 kids, thinking about med school

More
8 years 9 months ago #77183 by klp
Hi all,

Well, I could use some advice. I am 36 years old and have a PhD from a highly regarded research institution. I am an assistant professor at a liberal arts college, and I am happily married with 2 children (ages 3 and 6). While I like my job, I don't have much time for research, so most of what I do is teach...I can't really imagine doing this job for the next 30+ years, and I can't imagine my low salary for that long either. During the academic year, I work a lot. I do have much more flexibility over the summer, but the academic year is quite busy. I have many friends who are MDs, so I know a good bit about their hours. I could more than handle those hours when I'm done, but it is the training that I'm worried about.

Prior to obtaining my PhD, I was interested in medical school as well. I opted for the PhD route partly because, at that time, I could not imagine "training" for 7 or 8 years before working. Ahhhh, how naive. So, now I am thinking about applying to the medical school in my town. Ironically, they recently recruited me for a faculty position. I can't decide if I'm crazy to think about taking on this debt and losing out on time with my family, or if it would be a wasted opportunity to not give it a try. I think I would only have to take the Organic Chem sequence (and MCAT) to be able to apply (which I can actually take for free at the institution where I teach.)

So - any advice would be helpful. How high is the debt from Med School? If you are a reasonably efficient individual, would you still be able to spend time with your family during the training period? What is the best and worst part about Med school and residency?

Thanks so much.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 9 months ago #77184 by Emily2651