× Thinking of a Becoming a Doctor

Talk to me about med school

More
8 years 8 months ago #77420 by DrSingleMom

I'm a 22yrold single mom of a 5 month old with no baby daddy and/or child support.
Right now, I'm going to school to be a surgical tech. I've been talking myself out of going further because of my situation but I really think I could do it.
I've read on the medical school websites here that they prefer liberal art undergrad degrees over science degrees because they want someone "well-rounded." So my game plan is to get my bachelors degree in Spanish while I work as a surgical tech.
My concern is supporting myself and my son in medical school because I understand it'll be difficult to work during that time.
Any thoughts/advice?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 8 months ago #77490 by futuredoc22
I am in the same boat you are..am 22 and have a 2 month year old.. I want to be a doctor.. I have been talking my self down to a nurse ..but my heart wants more.. I want help also.. maybe we can help each other.. get though this and be good support.

More
8 years 8 months ago #77498 by rianah100
You are 22 and have a child w/o the support of the father. You have a lot ahead of you. My best suggestion is to wait till you are older (yes, 30+). Your baby needs you. Remember, Jackie Onasis said once- "if you bungle raising your children, all else won't matter."

More
8 years 8 months ago #77499 by Melbelle