× Thinking of a Becoming a Doctor

34 yr old and thinking about MD

More
8 years 7 months ago - 8 years 7 months ago #77651 by consult2health
I'm at a crossroads (i.e. constantly thinking about going to Med School), but at the same time have my life kind of set.

What am I doing w/ my life? I'm at a top 5 university working on my PhD in Finance. This means I'll end up teaching at a Bus school in about 4 yrs (if everything goes according to plan). Profs at Bus schools (usually) make good money, so my interest in Medicine has nothing to do with income.

I love teaching, but I'm not passionate about finance, i.e. I like it, but I think there're other things I might like more (eg Medicine). It seems I'm unable to brush the idea of practicing medicine off my mind. I've been entertaining this thought for about 5-6 yrs now. I don't know what triggered it, but it started as an idea/thought, then quickly progressed to visualization of me practicing medicine (not sure which specialization, but I find myself reading/watching about skin problems pretty frequently).

I have the resources and would gladly invest in my future in order to pursue smth I love. The problem is the following:

1) I don't know if I just love the idea of Medicine or I'd enjoy actually being a doctor (what experiences will let me see what it's like to be a physician and work with patients)
2) how will leaving the Phd (if I decide to pursue Med S) affect the admission process
3) how many yrs (realistically) I'd need to accomplish this goal (2 yrs for prereqs + 4 yrs MD + 4 yrs residency ?)

any comments/suggestions are welcome.
Last Edit: 8 years 7 months ago by .

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 7 months ago #77662 by consult2health
so, no comments?

More
8 years 7 months ago #77663 by SW to MD