× Thinking of a Becoming a Doctor

Engineer thinking of medical school....

More
8 years 7 months ago #77861 by ksuwildcat
Hi! I graduated from college in 2008 with a degree in Biological Engineering. I have now been working in the oil and gas industry for a major oil company for a little over 2 years. I'm always comtemplated whether I should go back to school for medicine, and have been thinking of it more and more often. My BioEngineering degree has provided me with a solid chem and bio background, however, it's been several years now. I'm 26 years old and not sure what my chances are. I graduated college with a 3.7 GPA. Any suggestions for me? What are my chances with being older, non-premedical student? I also have not had alot of "volunteer" or "shadowing" experience since college. I have not shadowed in the medical / health area since I was a freshman in college. After that I have interned in environmental engineering jobs, and with oil and gas companies. Suggestions? I could really use some help here folks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 7 months ago #77866 by Melbelle
I would work on the volunteer experiences, and shadow some physicians. You are not very old for premed. The average age in my first-year class is 26. I'm older than that, and there are several older than I am. In addition, a surprising portion of my classmates are liberal arts majors. A handful of schools may not like the older applicant, but many actually prefer an applicant with life experience.