× Thinking of a Becoming a Doctor

Is doctoring a good fit for me?

More
8 years 6 months ago #78572 by Melbelle
I love PA students! They work incredibly hard, learn some materials to the same level we do (I'm a med student), and finish in 2 years! Yes, 2 years! You could always go back if you decide you'd rather be an MD, but many people love the field.

You should shadow some more healthcare practitioners to get a feel for the lifestyle and responsibility level that feels best to you.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 6 months ago #78578 by happymum
I know exactly what you are going through! I have been in alsmost the same predicament for years. I started med school at 20 and finished at 26. I was supposed to start residency but life plays tricks on you. It didn't work out and I got married instead.
That was three years ago and we now have a beautiful little boy. I do not regret for a moment the choices that I made.
However, now I just can't face the thought of doing my residency. I couldn't stand being away from my little boy for so long and I, like you, value a healthy, low stress life-style
It is so hard to let go of a dream and one that you have worked so hard for.
My cousin is a PA and she LOVES it. They even call her doctor at the office she works at. My whole family considers her a doctor because she can prescribe meds. She earns tons of money, no stress, no responsabilities. An option you might want to think of.
I wish I could give you advice. Just wanted you to know that you are not alone in feeling like this.

More
8 years 6 months ago #78685 by 555