× Thinking of a Becoming a Doctor

Ready for the Journey?

More
8 years 8 months ago #78966 by Teacher Nerd
I've been lurking on this site for awhile now - seeking advice for my situation, but I'm at the point where I really need to reach out.

I will be 30 in Oct & I am a high school science teacher. I've been married to an amazing, supportive husband for 5 yrs & we have an 8mo old son. I've always wanted to go to med school; & that was the plan, but I fell in love with teaching. There has always been the "regret" of not pursuing the dream, so I recently looked into a post-Bacc (since undergrad GPA wasn't ideal). I was reassured that I was an excellent candidate for the program, but I ran into the following concerns:

- I would have to move to another city; causing my husband to commute 1.5 to & from work everyday (he said he would do it, but I'd feel really guilty)
- Daycare for the baby is a huge concern; we don't have family to support us, so based on looking at the posts maybe a nanny is the answer
- I'd like to have another child in the next 2 yrs, to keep the age difference manageable. This would mean I would be pregnant during the post-Bacc program.

It seems like most people have supportive families to help raise children when both parents work & have demanding jobs. A lot of doctors on this site, when asked would they go through all of the sacrifices again, reply with adamant No's. I'd like to work in Pediatrics, or EM. I'm not worried about the debt, it's the time away from my child/future children that worries me.

I also have a friend in another Prof doctorate program who told me I was crazy for even hesitating to apply to the post-Bacc, since they practically recruited me. I also neglected to mention the program has a direct linkage with the med school.