× Thinking of a Becoming a Doctor

Need advice about considering med school

More
8 years 4 weeks ago #81388 by efex101
Deleted SPAM post.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 11 months ago #81894 by Zoesmom
I always feel that I am putting her before me no matter what I do, but I also know that I have to make a good career choice in order to be able to take care of her.

God forbid you put your child before you? Everything you say is so contradicting. FYI being a nurse you will be able to take care of her so don't act like you NEED to be a doctor to take care of her appropriately!

BTW I love Emily's post!

I pray they will carry on in spite of that dreadful monster prejudice, and with patience, courage, fortitude and perseverance achieve success for themselves. <br />Major Taylor <br />

More
7 years 10 months ago - 7 years 10 months ago #82571 by Vita
Hi OpheliasWings,

Wow, this is my first time on this forum and I am so glad I came upon this heated thread. When I read your post, it was like reading about my own life. I am 31 years old, and I have a 9-months old son and a wonderful husband who says he would be behind any of my career decisions as long as they make me happy. I have a BS in Business and a Master's degree in Int'l Business, but I never even worked in this field. I have always wanted to be a doctor. I have recently started a community college initially with an idea of at least becoming a nurse, but secretly hoping to get pre-med courses and prepare for MCAT. This is my first semester back and as homework becoming more demanding, doubts started creeping in.
I am constantly distracted by thoughts of all the time that studies take away from my child. I am 100% in support of your values and reasoning for not wanting to sacrifice your family for the career and seeking reassurance or some support in finding out if ANY if at all balance between Med school and family is possible.