× Thinking of a Becoming a Doctor

M.S. student pursuing M.D.

More
7 years 11 months ago #83204 by Shane StEsprit
I am a 25 year old graduate student in speech-language pathology who is considering entering medical school when I graduate next year. My dream is to become an ENT (residency placement willing). I think that speech therapy is a great field and much needed, but I want to do more. All the knowledge of the head and neck that I have obtained in my undergraduate and graduate career fascinates me and I want to do more than 50 minute therapy sessions 2x weekly.

I am concerned about coming in with a masters. Some schools have told me that it looks bad seeing as I want to enter another medical field. They've told me it makes ADCOMs believe that you've become "bored" with your current track. This is not the case at all and I will make it as clear as possible in my personal statement. Has anyone had this issue?

Then there's the DO/MD debate. I have zero idea as of this posting which I would like to enter into. My graduate GPA is 4.0 undergraduate of 3.6. I have been preparing (early, I know) for the MCATs. I shadowed an ENT in the OR this week and observed multiple bilateral myringotomy procedures as well as tonsillectomies, adenoidectomies, septoplasties, etc. and have decided that ENT is definitely the route I want to take.

I know it's a long road to take post-graduate studies, but I know that I will feel more secure in my career if it's in medicine and not strictly therapy. Any thoughts from M.S./M.A. students who have done (or are doing) the same thing? I have had some promising calls with post-bacc programs with linkages with well known MD/DO schools, so this has been a little bit of relief. Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 11 months ago #83234 by obgyninWI