× Thinking of a Becoming a Doctor

Process of becoming a doctor

More
7 years 3 weeks ago #86290 by candy89
Hello there,

Would someone please explain to me the whole process from starting medical school to become a doctor (no more school)? When is someone considered as a intern? When is some considered as resident? My current understanding is 4 years medical school, then intern and finally resident. Am I correct? How long is intership and how long is residency? How competitive is it to get into the specialty that you want? I am thinking about trauma, critical care, anesthesiology, and cardiology. How difficult is it to get into one of these specialties? What happen if someone spend all the years in medical school but do not get into the specialty that they want?

Thank you,

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 3 weeks ago #86298 by annie501
I graduated a few years ago, so someone else may be able to give you more current information, but here is what I know.
Medical school is 4 years. The first two are classwork, and the second 2 are clinical. After the first two years, you take the USMLE step 1, which is a huge, comprehensive exam.