× Thinking of a Becoming a Doctor

Quit PA School?

More
5 years 1 month ago - 5 years 1 month ago #94730 by Violet Rose
Hi everyone,

Ever since I can remember, I have always wanted to become a physician. In undergrad, I majored in biology, volunteered in a hospital, and was involved in several research opportunities. I took the MCAT after junior year and was dismayed at my low (but apparently average) score (26). Nevertheless, I graduated with an overall GPA of about 3.6 (from a competive university) and still had the desire to go to medical school. After graduating, I worked in several jobs in clinical research and in the emergency room.

At the time, I was discouraged by many people (family and physicians) from going the medical school route. After some situations in life and my own dismay/uncertainty about the physician profession, I decided to apply to PA school (although I was still uncertain). I ended up being rejected from most school I applied to.

Then, about a month before one of the PA schools I applied to was about to start, I received a phone call that I was accepted from the wait list. Initially, I was reluctant, but with a lot of persuasion from family and friends, I decided to quit my job to attend. Very soon after I did this, I started having doubts and really questioned my decision. I spoke with family and friends about this, but they reassured me that I was just having anxiety about taking a new step.

Fast forward about a month later, I have matriculated to the PA school, but I am still having doubts about this profession. This really concerns me considering the amount of loans I will be taking out (over $100,000). I still have a desire to go to medical school and am afraid that I have made a mistake by accepting the invitation so much so that I am even considering withdrawing from this school and applying to medical school.