× Thinking of a Becoming a Doctor

I am a PA student who still dreams about becoming a doctor

More
3 months 4 weeks ago - 3 months 4 weeks ago #140791 by cmom
I love the profession of medicine. I spent all my mid-20's working in the medical field where I found my love for medicine. I was originally applying to medical school, but after experiencing two very difficult losses in my life, a spouse in the military and two children I decided to apply to PA school. I was accepted the first time I applied to the only two schools I submitted my application.

As I prepare to go onto my rotations I still dream of becoming a physician, but continue with the PA route because I love medicine and its the best choice for my two kids and husband who lives in a different country due to military orders. My entire didactic year was completed with a husband overseas. I am truly excited to start my rotations, but the dream I have continues to linger in my heart.

Is there anyone who has experienced this feeling? Know someone in a similar situation? I plan to finish PA school because as I could not picture myself doing anything else, but medicine. I feel that by the time I am finished with PA school (currently early 30's) and my loans are paid off I will be too old to return to medical school. If someone who is familiar with this situation could share advice I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you.
Last Edit: 3 months 4 weeks ago by cmom. Reason: reorganized wording

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 months 4 weeks ago #140792 by sahmd
I don't have experience with that exact situation, but I can see how difficult medical school would have been in your current situation. It is great that you have found a way to work in medicine while taking care of your kids with minimal support.