× Thinking of a Becoming a Doctor

UCD grad with family concerns- NP or MD?

More
16 years 4 weeks ago #58129 by PremedRN
Thanks M-A! Kate, thanks for giving nurses credit, as a current nurse I appreciate it. Sometimes I see where some docs mistreat some of the nurses. I wonder sometimes if it is because they are overwhelmed with work and need someone to take it out on. Also, I have heard or got the impression that at different facilities the nurses mistreat the med students, could it be some form of later retaliation or just plain snootiness? Who knows, sometimes personalities just conflict. On the other hand, I know of some nurses who treat the nursing students kinda crappy. One particular nurse I observed doing this and decided later in the work week to bring up reasons why I believed some nurses mistreat nursing students. I talked about it having to do with insecurity and low self-esteem of their own trying to compensate for it by belittling others...I think after hearing this, she evaluated herself, and believe it or not, she has gotten much better. Okay, dont know exactly how I got to this subject, but somehow it sorta has.
---Dana

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 years 4 weeks ago #58130 by efex101
Dana, I know for a fact that I will depend/rely/seek the nurses input always. They will be my ears/eyes/hands when I am not there with a patient. I will seek them out like crazy during residency specially if they are anything like yourself (knowledgeable, passionate, and willing to help a resident with zero experience)...

More
16 years 4 weeks ago #58131 by PremedRN