× Thinking of a Becoming a Doctor

UCD grad with family concerns- NP or MD?

More
16 years 4 weeks ago #58117 by Kate_dup1
It's nearly impossible to say what the right decision for you is going to be without the benefit of hind sight. I think we are all like that. But I can say, don't do something like med school just to prove you can or to avoid saying "what if". Med school is lots of money and lots of time for gratification that comes much later and for some, not at all. Not to be discouraging.
I've worked with a lot of NP's, many that I have consulted due to their expertise in areas and many that were my preceptors when I was a student. And I have been to some as a patient. They are definately in the position of being a patient's primary care giver and in some states, their only care giver, depending on the legislation. So it's not like an NP's job is any easier because they aren't MD's.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 years 4 weeks ago #58118 by marycc
I cannot thank all of you enough for your insight. I'm still struggling with the decision but your advice is helping me get there! I think either way I'll wonder about the other road, and that's just something I need to accept. Please keep comments coming- I would love to have new things to consider when weighing pros and cons with both roads. Thank you so much 2badr, PremedRN, efex101, and Kate. I really, really appreciate your comments!!!

More
16 years 4 weeks ago #58119 by PremedRN
Fact is, most people dont attempt at med school to just satisfy "what ifs". It is a deeprooted heartfelt dream not just a "what if". As far as NP's, yes they do have a lot of responsibility, no argument there, but they can perform surgery, or do a cardiac catheterization, etc, etc. For me, I always wanted to become a doctor but never had the confidence, grew up in poverty,etc.....