× Women in Medicine Blogs & Diaries

NOT superwoman! messy midlife mommytrack md 1son 4grown steps 3grandbabies

More
15 years 5 months ago #68905 by rs4
field day was rainy, noisy and in the gym. cute tug of war and two-kids-in-a-tee-shirt races.

last weekend we went to a relatives college graduation, which happened to be from/at the college where I graduated 25 years ago. I hadn't been back since, and it brought back layers and layers of experience. At one service, sat directly behind my long ago boyfriend...got to introduce him to my husb and son. He was the first man I ever wanted to sleep with... I would've married him in a flash, or is it easy to say that since it wasn't what he wanted. I felt so warm with good wishes for him, and so aware that my life looks more successful than his in a host of ways, dr, dr husb, solid marriage, great kid...he's had cancer, never married, sounds like a tough work career. 10 or 15 years ago I might have gloated! That sounds awful and couldn't be true!

My son is home sick with his second bout of strep throat, relapsed after one day off Penicillin. I don't even want to think about surgery(tonsils/adenoidectomy), but it may be what he needs. Was able to go in and see a couple of scheduled patients and hope to be back in the office day after tomorrow. Today it is Clifford and Magic School Bus and popsicles and tylenol...my little sweetie even said "thanks for taking care of me, mom" and apologized when he threw up in the bed! He is just the sweetest ever, even with that camel breath from being sick. :ouch:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 years 4 months ago #68906 by rs4
Memorial Day

My dad was in the army, during his med school, in the WWII years. He was just stateside. I hear these incredible #'s of how many WWII vets are dying each day (1100, 1500). My dad is 82, quite healthy, remarried after my mom died. I hope he stays around longer for my son, and for me.