× Women in Medicine Blogs & Diaries

Wife, mother of 2, med student

More
12 years 8 months ago #69798 by VivCe
After reading everyone's blog, I've finally decided to start my own. I really hope I will be able to keep this up. So let's begin with a brief introduction.

I completed my undergrad in 2002. I majored in biology as a pre-med student. I expected to be completing my MD degree this year. Instead I am just about to start first year in 2 months. Life throws everyone curves and turns but it is up to every individual to persevere and stay the course. God has blessed me with a loving and supportive husband of 3 years who has given me two adorable children (a 2yr old handsome little guy and a precious little 1 month old girl). I have completed a Masters along the way and have learned many lessons.

In my quest for my passion (MD), I have worked extensively in healthcare(clinical and academic) and have looked into other healthcare professions (to the extent of interviewing for and garnering acceptances from elite PA and nursing programs). I have been discouraged by well-meaning friends and family. But I knew my dream had not been defered.

You see, I am one of those people who have always known that medicine is their call. Medicine is indeed my calling and I have never thought of doing anything else except being a preacher/singer. Medical missions have been my passion since I was a child. You see, I grew up in a developing country with healthcare inadequacies due to economic factors. I have seen my parents open up their hearts, home and check books to help the less fortunate on countless occassions. I have witnessed poverty and sufferring firsthand and there is nothing satisfying to me than helping alleviate them.

I know med school will be extremely challenging especially with a family. Others have done, why can't I do the same?

So the journey begins here... :crossfingers:

If it is meant to be, it is up to me!