× Women in Medicine Blogs & Diaries

Post-bacc premed student...24yrs old...

More
10 years 11 months ago #69802 by Med2011
Hello all,

I've been reading all the post and diaries online and I have FINALLY decided to start one of my own. I think this will be very therapeutic and help to get some of the thoughts out of my head...lol

So just a little background about myself...I am 24 years old and I am currently in the process of completing a post-bacc pre-med program. My journey to getting here has been interesting and is in no way over. I would consider myself an intelligent person and I love learning. I majored in math in college and had a variety of minors. I started college with a minor in biology and was very excited about the possibility of going to medical school. However, I took my first two biology courses and I was NOT HAPPY. :( It wasn't that I did not do well in the courses...I def understood the information; the classes were just a bit BORING :o to me at the time...lol. I took this to mean I was not interested in medicine. If I could not get past the first few bio classes, how would I ever make it through medical school??? The only time I was truly interested in the material was when we were in the lab. I loved the hands on learning...however it didn't happen frequent enough. So these thoughts coupled with the fact that I felt I was too emotional to become a doctor made me doubt my abilities. For some reason I have a strong connection with people I sometimes feel like I feel what ever the person around me may be feeling. I have always thought doctors have to be cold and almost numb to emotions. So how was this going to work??? :rolleyes: