× Women in Medicine Blogs & Diaries

When medicine chooses you....

More
12 years 7 months ago #69847 by momRNtoDO
I have been inspired to share some of my experiences after reading some of the blogs here on MomMD. There is a lot to say, but it is late, and I want to carefully think about what I want to say.

First, I will just introduce myself and tell you a little about me. I am a nurse and have been for almost 10 years. I have wanted to be a doctor since I was a little girl. I don't have any doctors in my family and I wasn't at the doctor often nor did I have any sick family members. I think that God put that desire in my heart and for several years of my adult life I suppressed that calling.

I am a married mother of three. I have three sons: 3,5, and 8. They are my life. I married at 18, and started nursing school shortly after that. I thought that would be "good enough" for me to fulfill that desire I had. I graduated with my AD RN at 21, and had my first son later that year, and went right into prereq's for the BSN program at KUMed. I knew after the first semester of my AD program that nursing was not going to be my be-all-and-end-all. :goodvibes: As I started to manipulate the intestine, it was as if a shaft of light from Heaven shone down on me and I had the proverbial cathartic moment when I was hit with the realization that not only could I do it, I could be a doctor--I had to be a doctor. I came out of the room and immediately shared the moment with my nurse friends. That day I looked into prereq's and enrolled in classes.

Now, three years later, I am starting at KCUMB and the dream is taking a real shape. I am beside myself. I hope that I will be able to inspire, garner inspiration from others and just share life with you all.

It is an honor to be among so many fine women in medicine, or on their way to realizing their dreams.