× Women in Medicine Blogs & Diaries

starting a journal

More
12 years 1 month ago #69911 by coffeeandtea
Well, here goes. I'm a second year medical student, trying to power through the burnout that I've experienced lately. I've had a really busy year, with lots of ups and downs. aka stressors.

I got married.
The first four months of marriage were practically unbearable they were so hard. We finally signed up to go to a marriage counselor, and after about two months once a week, we started to communicate better. But it's still an adjustment, being newly weds. And we're BOTH in medical school.

My younger brother died.
Coming back to school was the hardest thing I think I've ever done. I'm still greiving every day. I've been really withdrawn since coming back, and I miss my family terribly. I want more than anything to be at home with them, but instead I'm trying to "power through" my second year of medical school. A lot of the reason why is because I was only 1/3rd of the way done, but already had invested 18,000 into it. Still though, school seems trivial compared to the loss of my brother. It's hard to go on and act normal when I feel the loss daily.

My parents moved.
We've lived in the same house for years. It's "home". It's full of memories of my brother. It's just the comforting place that has always been my homebase, with all of the moving in college and medical school. I went home this past weekend, and we were boxing everything up... That, too, is something I'm sad about, but trying to keep in perspective. My parents are moving solely to get another family member out of a really tight bind. Her family, 4 kids and all, are on the brink of bankruptcy, so it was unavoidable if my parents were willing to "help them out". Basically, my parents are moving into their house, along with the bigger house note. Anyway.