× Women in Medicine Blogs & Diaries

starting a journal

More
12 years 1 month ago #69917 by coffeeandtea
I am sitting in the library, with a large diet coke beside me, studying neuropath, with my feet propped up in my little corner. I've got a table I like, I'm settled in, and it's Saturday, so no school tomorrow! I love these moments, when I actually enjoy studying.

It's going to be strange as a M3, to be doing stuff more than studying. It's like right when yu get the hang of it, they change it up on you. My grades are literally 10 points higher this year compared to last. If I'd had a quicker adjustment, who knows how well I could have done? Not that it's over, and the book work is only one part of school, but it's interesting that just adjusting can make that much of a difference.

Tonight I'm studying neuropath, and then switching back over to Micro made ridiculously simple. I had a dream last night that my sister had the same book, but she was in high school. I was mad because I was like, that's too hard for high school! We're supposed to be learning more stuff than high school! What's so funny about that is I went to a public school and my science teacher REALLY and TRULY did not understand mitosis. She was saying it all wrong and confusing everyone, and I corrected her! Ah, the memories of being the shining student :goodvibes: I've listened to her talk about it for years, in fact, it was one thing that inspired me to really go for medical school. So, I've been thinking, if I love those stories so much, I should probably gravitate toward something that will allow me to have my own experiences like that. Maybe, when I'm an old woman (God willing) I'll have a brain full of memories of taking care of patients and their outcomes. That is a romantic notion, whether it is attainable and at what cost I'm not sure.