× Women in Medicine Blogs & Diaries

Healing

More
10 years 6 months ago #70329 by romany
To begin ,i am a medical graduate who never got into residency .Reasons were complicated and actually after many years ,i realized it was not the lack of determination that kept me down .
I have to take boards and start all over again to in order to get into residency .
Actually ,i joined an online study group and am making some progress .But obviously ,i have issues which sidetrack me now and then .I have realized ,the only way out of this situation is to get into residency and be independent .
I am married ,have 2 adorable daughters .They are the reason i can smile my way through the adversity .They are my hope for better future .They give me strength and determination to be self sufficient for them if not for myself .
I recently realized that all the verbal outbursts of anger portrayed by my spouse were way more than anger.It's called Verbal Abuse .
I was really taken aback when i called national hotline one day after another dog attack .I was so down and just wanted to talk to someone other than my family .I explained to her the situation and she assured me it's verbal abuse .I could never believe that i could be the victim of verbal abuse .I have been a strong personality all my life .I really would stand up against any kind of injustice without fear .
How did i ,of all the people ,become a victim of verbal abuse .
It's hard to believe and digest ,yet i know it's true .
She's right .Sometimes,you just want to look at your life through rose tainted glasses.You want to believe your life is perfect .You don't want to acknowledge the problems .You think that his outbursts of anger are related to stress and work .You will make up excuses to convince your heart that he did not mean to .How could he ? Obviously everything falls back to normal until one day he flips again over insignificant things like forgetting cell phone at home .