× Women in Medicine Blogs & Diaries

Mom of 5 making the journey.....

More
13 years 5 months ago #70579 by j.lasaundra
Hi,
I decided to start a diary because I think it will help me when i'm down. I like to self diagnos myself as slightly bipolar, because I have my ups and my downs on this road to becoming a doctor. About me: I'm a 28 year old mother of 5. All boys. I am a 2nd year premed student at a local university. I'll give you a brief history about me. I am my mother's oldest child. I have a younger brother and sister from my mother and two younger brothers and an older sister from my father. I grew up with a single mom until I was 12 then I went to live with my grandmother in Louisiana. As the oldest child. I was given a lot of responsiblity. My mom had problems with drugs and alcohol so a lot of times I was the care giver for my younger sister and brother. My grandmother took me out of that situation when I was 12 by sending for me to come live with her. I left my younger sister and brother behind with my mom. it was the experience that I had before I left her that placed a seed for medicine inside of me. My mom took me to John Hopkins to get my wisdom tooth removed at the age of 12. It was there that I saw doctors who took care of me, and helped me through the surgery. A seed was placed. at that moment, I knew that i wanted to become a doctor. I wanted to be just like them. In Louisiana, during high school, I continued to feed my hunger for knowledge of medicine, and joined premed clubs, participated in premed summer programs, witnessed births, ect...I knew for a fact that i wanted to be a doctor. an ob/gyn, to be exact. Unfortuantley, when i graduated from high school, things took a bad turn with my sister and brother who were up north. my brother was in foster care, and my sister was staying with friends. the friends mom was complaining because my mom didn't provide support for her, my mom was also collecting welfare for all of us and not giving any of u