× Women in Medicine Blogs & Diaries

My somewhat normal (but not for long) life

More
10 years 9 months ago #70696 by rnmd?
I'm a 22y/o BSN nurse who always wanted to go to med school but was afraid I wasn't smart enough/good enough, so I did nursing. I like nursing, but I want more. I feel like I don't get to use my brain enough. I'm married to a great guy who says he's willing to go through all of this with me, although I don't quite know if he know's what he's getting himself into. But he's survived nursing school with me, and told me once re: med school, "You didn't think you could do nursing, and you did that very well, and you didn't think you could do x, but you did that, so you can do med school". We both know that we can't wait 10+years to have kids, (since I still have pre-reqs to do) so we're going to start trying next year. Hopefully having one (or two) before school won't be a bad idea. I hope to get into my home school, where I did undergrad and where I'll do pre-reqs, but we're OK with the idea of moving a few hours away. Luckily we live in an area pretty densely packed with med schools in a 300 mile radius. But I'm hoping we can stay here so we can have help from our families!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 9 months ago #70697 by rnmd?
I am young. I know that. But I feel old. I'm almost 23, but I've been a nurse for a year and a half, and I have all this responsibility at work (I'm a charge nurse), and I have been married for a year and lived with my husband for 3, pay all of our bills, etc., is it so bad to want a baby? Heart says no, wants little shoes and little hats and little cries. Head says my God, you're only 22!

This, I guess, is my justification post.