× Women in Medicine Blogs & Diaries

Diary of a high school teacher turned doctor (i.e. resident)

More
15 years 6 months ago #70887 by lmb10
It is March and thus three and one-half months until I will start my sixth year of training "to be a doctor"...four years of med school and nearly into one year of a family practice residency...and I wonder every day if I made the right decision. I used to be a teacher...used to get to look out over the lab table at the front of the room and see young and often excited faces. They were usually healthy and as I taught at a private school, generally respectful, and they loved to tell me about their lives. I think that is what I miss most...the openess of adolescents with their thoughts and affection...or their fear or anger. Unlike adults, kids can be so transparent about their emotions and are still willing to get excited about things.

Now I find myself at 5:50 am knocking lightly on a heavy wood door without a lock to enter the room and personal space of a usually very ill human being and their concerned family/friends...the "patient's room". Despite having done this for 3 years now, I am still amazed that we practice hospital medicine this way...waking sick folks before the sun has risen...interrupting restorative rest...to quickly ask them how they are, do a cursory physical exam, and then run back out to the nurses station to get the required note written before meeting the attending for rounds. This certainly can't be in the patient's best interest and yet every morning I knock on the door, put on my pleasant cheerful face, and enter a world usually populated by illness and fear.