× Women in Medicine Blogs & Diaries

Copious Amounts of Coffee

More
10 years 1 week ago - 10 years 1 week ago #72929 by LessInteresting
Hello, ladies! It's 1:42 AM, and I put the ol' Physics homework to rest for now. I'm just about ready to retire for the evening, even though I have much more that I could study. I'm praying that my little ones will let me have some study time tomorrow. I suppose an introduction is in order.

I am a 22 year old pre-med student. I graduated with a generic Bachelor's degree in Spring '09 and decided I wanted to be a doctor so badly that I just couldn't stand it anymore.

Let me back up a few pages. I've been married for nearly four years; I got married between my freshman and sophomore year. I had my first child, a girl, during my junior year and was pregnant with my second when I graduated (he's 3 months old now, and my daughter is almost 2). I didn't believe that I could be a doctor and be an involved mother. But, thanks to blogs, this website, and other sources, I have come to realize that it can be done, and it can be done well. There's more to the story, but I can't say that it's very intriguing, and I suppose that it will all unfold as I write this diary. I don't want to overwhelm you with information, but I think you get the general idea.

I am also a photographer. Kind of. I'm just starting out (and there's a long story behind that, too). I haven't officially filed my paperwork, so I can't legally charge people yet. Plus, most of my clients are people I know personally, and I don't have the heart to charge. I love photography and graphic design, but I can't see that being my main gig forever. I just want to do it while I'm in school and as a hobby in later years.