× Women in Medicine Blogs & Diaries

Newbie! Anyone with premed wisdom?

More
9 years 8 months ago #73577 by katie1234
Hello,
I am new to this site but am so glad I found it. I am a freshman at the University of Utah and in the last couple of years have also re-realized my dream of becoming a doctor. I am in school full time and have two kids and in my spare time I do volunteer work, focus on my premedical course work, and otherwise don't have much of a life outside of these things which is fine with me, because I also took the alternative route after some college, not to mention most of my 20s. I am 29 years old and really thought this was a silly dream that passed me by years ago. I really love hearing about moms just like me who are dong the same thing. If anyone has any advice for me on what it takes, what can help me during the premed process, how to knock out my competition and anything else that would be useful to me as an undergraduate my ears are open! I have been especially worried about not being able to handle the human body in a very literal sense. I'm a bit squeamish, with the hope that this will eventually be something I can overcome with exposure. Does anyone know if this is common among new medical students? Has anyone had anything similar they had to overcome? I also had many more questions about what to talk about and or things to emphasize in my personal statement, extra courses to consider taking to gain an edge, and other questions like, is being a mom considered during review of my extra curricular activities? Do medical schools lean in favor of the students who have the most volunteer work, patient experience, and extra curricular activities or those who score higher on the MCAT? I have so many questions because I want to make sure I'm doing everything I can to tip the scales in my favor right from the beginning, partly because I feel I have no time to waste. I don't think I have ever wanted anything more in my life, and the idea that it has