× Women in Medicine Blogs & Diaries

Surgery Residency Diary, Mom of 2

7 years 8 months ago #75069 by cardiacrn1
So today I was off. I got home yesterday around 330pm post call, did a few things at home and by 630pm I was in bed, exhausted. I slept till 340am and it was nice knowing I was off today so I slept till 6am. I went to the hair dresser, got braided, came home took a nap and then started reading. It's good to read, reenforces.. anyway, I had a patient who came in, 50 something year old with ESRD on hemodialysis. BP was 245/135 and HR 122, his pupils were so constricted I could not even do a fundus exam. When he arrived his mentation was intact, slight headache and nausea; nothing too alarming. First CT was negative but later during the night he became confused, combative, had to be placed in restraints. I spoke to my attending who wanted a repeat CT, consulted ICU which was good coz he needed ICU care. Being a novice I ordered "CT brain stroke protocol" not realizing that an order like that would activate the stroke team....ooooops. My resident shouted at me.. Oh well, I figured no harm was done, my guy got his CT pretty fast:) At least now I know, I am there to learn and so I made a mistake but it did not put the patient's life at stake. So, will be on call again on Friday, Q5 is not so bad this month. Retiring early today, have a good rest of the week to all.

Remember, the days are long but the years are short.- Elizabeth Cooperstein

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

7 years 7 months ago - 7 years 7 months ago #75245 by cardiacrn1