× Women in Medicine Blogs & Diaries

Medical Student Blog

More
8 years 11 months ago #78308 by pinkmouse55
Dear Mommd.com,

I am a frequent reader and decided to chronicle my journey. I am in my second year of medical school. I have a test in about a week and a half. I have my boards coming up and I am stressed beyond relief. My young years have been spent on a chair and I have slowly been isolating myself. I have moments where I rejoin school but for the most part I want this year to be over. My boyfriend is not in medical school which makes the support different than what I expected. We both have to work on supporting each other in our respective fields. I am hopeful we can do this. I am know I am feeling this way because I have very little support from my classmates and family. The school portion is where I needed it the most. I have had jobs before so I know I need support less in the situation. When I am working, I find support after the day is over. I just have to get through these next few months and keep my head faced forward. I have many thoughts working against me and find very little to push me through. It is almost there and I have to keep repeating it will be different in my rotations. I was not much of a book learner in college and high school. I was naturally smart. This constant test taking is against my style and nature. If I did not have the memory I had, my grades would be very different! Only a few more months and a change of environment will come. I will not make the same mistakes I did in this medical school environment. I let my emotions get the best of me and now they have taken over. I cannot hide them. They are real and there. I have no disguise. I have to go to class and pretend that the awkwardness that surrounds me is perfectly ok. One advice: never ruin your environment because it will ruin you.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 11 months ago #78485 by pinkmouse55