× Women in Medicine Blogs & Diaries

Medical school at 34?

3 years 3 days ago #95742 by healthcare123
Hello Everyone, I am new to this site and have found some wonderful stories about women in medicine. So, I would firstly like to say, I'm honored to be here. I have posted on student md about this recently but would want to get a mother's perspective. I graduated high school in 2000 with 4.32 gpa. Started UCLA right away with major in Cognitive science. I aced my first summer and quarter. Starting second quarter, my 23 y/o sister dies in a horrific car accident. My grades plummet like crazy. I didn't want to study; I would sit in the library and just day dream. I really needed to see a counselor but never did. Anyway, I keep taking classes and failing miserably at them. Then a year later, my father at 51, passes of a heart attack (I think it might have been my sister's loss that really killed him). Now it's just my mother, 9 year old brother and me. I gather myself somehow and start doing better in school (average Bs and a few As). Thinking my medical school years are definitely over, I start taking LVN classes at night during my last year of UCLA. Right after, I go into an accelerated RN program and start working to support my mom and brother. The psychological stability of my family fell into my hands as my mother was too devastated, and my brother was too young to have to suffer such. I got married and now have a wonderful one year old boy. Working full time, I went on to become an Adult Nurse Practitioner and recently completed Critical Care Nurse practitioner post-masters' program. However, I feel like I'm always chasing my dream of becoming a physician and no matter how much schooling I do in nursing, I just don't have enough breath of knowledge I want. Maybe other NPs are satisfied with their role, but I always want more. Now, at the age of 33 I'm thinking of taking all my science classes over to apply for med school next year. Am I crazy to want this? I hav