× Women in Medicine Blogs & Diaries

Caribbean & Non-med husband

More
6 months 4 weeks ago #140991 by bma
I've been looking over these blogs and can't find exactly what I'm looking for, so I'm just going to layout what I'm going through. I'm 25 and married to a great guy. He is a mechanic and I work as an ascp certified microbiology lab technician. I applied to med school 4 years ago. I had a gpa of 3.8 and an mcat of 26. I had multiple interviews and waitlists, but didn't get in. I was crushed and tried to forget about that dream. Four years later, I realized that growing bacteria and obeying infectious disease docs wasn't going to satisfy my insatiable appetite for learning, I decided to re-apply to med school. The only problem was my MCAT expired after 3 years; I should just retake it, right? No, apparently the test has changed and added new subjects, so my $1500 of study materials are useless. Also, to reapply I'll be 1.5 years older by the time I find out if I "might" get in. I'm broke and find out Caribbean medical schools accept the MCAT for 5 years. I can't take out a loan for more MCAT study materials, but I can take out a loan for medical school. I applied to AUC and was accepted within a week. Every doc I work with is extremely supportive of this type of med school (even though the internet says something different). My husband is supportive and willing to quit his job and continue his education via online classes while I'm in school. Does anyone have any input regarding Caribbean med schools? Is it a lost cause or worth a shot? Also, what about marriage? Has anyone been married while at a Caribbean med school? Lady docs your input is appreciated!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 months 4 weeks ago #140993 by sahmd