× Women Physicians

Urgent Care Fellowship

More
8 years 3 months ago #81283 by Zeze'sMum
Hi Ladies,
I am a PGY2 FM resident and a mom to a 16mths old. Having a baby changed everything for me including how much time I was willing to work when I finished residency.

After much research, I came across the options of Urgent Care and the lifestyle, flexibility and "Lack of burnout" is much appealing. My questions to you are

1-Anyone here work at urgent care or know someone who does? I just want more inside "behind the scenes info" on the lifestyle.

2- I am strongly considering an urgent care fellowship. Though a lot of people say I don't need it because I am FM; i think an extra yr on brushing up on procedures and acute care wont do me any harm (plus it will allow me to pop out baby #2...shh...don't tell..lol) There are only 3 places in the country but I don't know how competitive it is.

Generally any information I can get on urgent care will be much appreciated. Thanks!

I can do all things through Christ; that includes being a mom, doctor and wife!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 3 months ago #81303 by sahmd
Wow, I had not heard that there were urgent care fellowships. Maybe others can correct me if I'm wrong, but pretty much anyone can do urgent care. You don't even need to do residency first. You just need a license. It seems to me that you will be qualified to do the job after completing a FM residency. You may as well start doing the job and enjoying the benefits of the lifestyle right away.

More
8 years 3 months ago #81323 by babylove
I agree don't even do the fellowship! Fm res will give you plenty of preparation!

More
8 years 3 months ago #81325 by AnnaM
LOL. One of the three places you are considering is at my alma mater.

I agree that a fellowship would not be necessary if you are in family medicine.