× Women Physicians

SAHM x 7 years, husband laid off - need advice

More
7 years 1 month ago #86390 by dmdoc
I have been a long-time lurker but now find myself in need of this group's help. I was in private practice as an endocrinologist for 9 years in Texas. Seven years ago we moved to northern California for my husband's engineering job. I became a SAHM at that time, have really enjoyed it, but 3 weeks ago my husband was laid off. His job search has not yielded any definite prospects yet. Although we have an emergency fund, I feel very anxious and want to try to find work for myself, either clinical or non-clinical, as soon as possible. I do not, do not want to move if at all possible. I have an active California license and am board certified in IM and endo. What are my job options at this point, having not practiced for seven years?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 1 month ago #86391 by niash
I am just a 4th yr med student. But, I had a lot of engineering expreience before switching to medicine. I just wanted to tell you- it is not uncommon in engineering to have layoffs. Your husband will find something (esp. in CA, there should be jobs for him). Sorry if I upset someone b/c I am not yet a physician and yet posted here. I just wanted to give some encouragement to the OP.

More
7 years 1 month ago #86394 by jandl513